**Department of Administration** 





PAULA VRANA, COMMISSIONER

10<sup>th</sup> Fl. State Office Building Juneau, AK 99811 Main: 907.465.2200 Fax: 907.465.2135 www.doa.alaska.gov

## MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 15, 2025

TO: Adam Crum, Commissioner, Department of Revenue

FROM: Paula Vrana, Commissioner, Department of Administration

## SUBJECT: Fourth Quarter 2024 Report for the Oil Surcharge Account

AS 43.55.221(b) requires that I report to you the sum of the balance of the Oil and Hazardous Substance Release Response Account, the balance of the account maintained to account for the proceeds of the surcharge, and the balance of the Oil and Hazardous Substance Release Response Mitigation Account.

AS 43.55.221(d) provides that you suspend imposition and collection of the \$0.01 per barrel of oil surcharge levied and collected under AS 43.55.201, when the cumulative balance of these accounts equals or exceeds \$50,000,000.

AS 43.55.221(e) provides that you will require reimposition and collection of the \$0.01 per barrel of oil surcharge levied and collected under AS 43.55.201 when the cumulative balance of these accounts is less than \$50,000,000. Per the memo dated April 11, 2013, the surcharge was reimposed effective July 1, 2013.

As of December 31, 2024, the cumulative balance of the accounts was \$40,721,834.79. The calculation is as follows:

(1) Unreserved and unobligated balance in the response account		
Of the Oil and Hazardous Substance Release Prevention and		
Response Fund (AS 46.08.010)	\$ 39	9,982,134.16
(2) Balance of the surcharge account (AS 43.55.201)	\$	739,700.63
(3) Balance of the response mitigation account (AS 46.08.025(b))	\$	0.00
TOTAL	<u>\$4</u>	0.721.834.79

If you have any questions, please call Sara McClane, Division of Finance at 907-465-4030

Q4 2024 OHSRRF Account Memo January 15, 2025 Page 2 of 2

Emma Pokon, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) cc: Teresa Melville, Director, Division of Spill Prevention and Response (SPAR), DEC Michelle Lango, Administration Operations Manager, Division of SPAR, DEC Megan Kohler, Director, Division of Administrative Services, DEC Brook Larson, Division Operations Manager, Division of Administrative Services, DEC Dale Yancey, Director, Division of Tax, DOR Brandon Spanos, Deputy Director, Division of Tax, DOR VACANT, Tax Accounting Manager, DOR Cassandra Griffin, Budget Manager, Division of Administrative Services, DEC Christina McCoskey, Accountant 5, Division of Administrative Services, DEC Eric Demoulin, Acting Division Director, Division of Finance, DOA Lori Wright-Seymour, Accountant 5, Division of Finance, DOA Michael Partlow, Fiscal Analyst, Legislative Affairs Dan Stickel, Chief Revenue Economic Research, DOR Destin Greeley, Revenue Audit Supervisor 2, DOR Brent Wittmer, Special Assistant, Commissioner's Office, DOA Sara McClane, Accountant 4, Division of Finance, DOA